Articles of Interest

Job opportunities at Santa Ysabel

Displaying photo.PNG

Summer Solstice

Displaying photo.PNG

Chumash Oppose Serra Sainthood

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE            5/12/15

        "Disrobing Junipero Serra- Saint or Monster?"
    Public welcome to discussion on Sainthood of Junipero Serra
        And   the real history of California missions

Santa Barbara Ca., On Saturday May 30, 2015, In opposition of the Pope's plans to grant Serra sainthood and the Catholic church's continued failure to address the real story of the California missions, the Barbareño Chumash Tribal Council " 'iyalmuwič " and The American Indian Movement of Southern California, have brought together some of the Native community's most notable academics and leaders to lead discussions in two thought provoking panels. The Unitarian Society of Santa Barbara is hosting this as a free event at 1535 Santa Barbara St. Santa Barbara, CA. 93101 

The First panel begins at 9:30 a.m., with the topic of the International Ramifications of Canonization.  The sainthood of Junipero Serra will have global repercussions. This issue affects the entire Western Hemisphere.  This panel will expose the iconic California Mission systems, which has long been held by the Catholic church as a golden era- a unique storyline that created a myth of it's own. Subjects to include; The Doctrine of Discovery, the United Nations Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples, Human rights, religious, spiritual, environmental, economic and social justices issues of today. Panelists include:

•    Facilitator- Marcus Lopez, Sr., Co-Chair of the Barbareño Chumash Tribal Council, “'iyalmuwič”;
•    Elias Castillo, author, A CROSS OF THORNS, The Enslavement of California’s Indians by the Spanish Missions;
•    Valentin Lopez, Chairman, the Amah Mutsun Tribal Band of Costanoan/Ohlone Indians;
•    Tia Oros Peters-Zuni, Executive Director of the 7th Generation Fund for Indigenous Development;
•    Deana Dartt-Newton - Chumash, doctor of Anthropology;
•    Roberta Cordero - Chumash Elder, Coastal Band of the Chumash Nation;
•    Shannon Rivers, Akimel O'otham, former co-chair of the Global Indigenous Peoples -Caucus United Nations Permanent Forum on Indigenous Issues;
•    Kanyon Sayers-Roods, Costanoan Ohlone, Chumash, Director of CIR- Indian Canyon;
•    Fuifuilupe Niumeitolu, Tongan, PhD Candidate, Dept. of Ethnic Studies, University of California, Berkeley.

Panel two begins at 1:00 p.m. with the topic of Catholic and Christians against canonization. The issue of Junipero Serra's impending sainthood, should not be a "Native Vs. Catholic" issue. This has been an emotional issue of major proportions. Many people from the Christian and Catholic faith have been reaching out, and organizing against Pope Francis' decision for Junipero Serra's sainthood.  Subjects will include: How does one become a saint? Did Serra meet those requirements? How is the Catholic Church justifying the Junipero Sainthood? What is and what is not implied by Sainthood? How does this involve historical trauma and self - determination?

Panelist include:
•    Facilitator- Valentin Lopez, Chairman, the Amah Mutsun Tribal Band of Constantan/Ohlone Indians,
•     Georgiana Valoyce Sanchez- Chumash, O'odham Elder Retired Professor of American Indian Literature Cal-State Long Beach;
•     Donna Schindler, MD Cross-Cultural Psychiatry Historical Trauma Focus,
•    Mary Valdemar, Former Catholic Youth of the Year, LA Archdiocese, Co-Founder of CHICCCAA, Coalition Member, Indigenous DRUM,
•     Sasheen Littlefeather, Kiowa- Lifelong Native Activist and practicing Catholic.
•    Greg Cotten: Christian, Research Scientist, and human rights advocate

The public is invited to attend this free event, Saturday May 30, 2015 at 9:30 am.  At the Unitarian Society at 1535 Santa Barbara St. Santa Barbara, CA. 93101.  For more information or questions please contact Corine Fairbanks (805) 636-8653/ email: or Marcus Lopez (805) 969-1076.

PILAMAYAYE/ Thank you,
Corine Fairbanks

Funeral for Thomas Devine

Displaying photo.JPG

Anniversary Mass For Albert Linton

Displaying photo.JPG